Energy Insight: Energy policies of the world

Please refer to the attached Excel spreadsheet for a full list of countries and their particular sources of information.

International Energy Agency (IEA)

IEA Member countries
(See attached excel document for a complete list)

IEA Policies and measures databases
“Since 1999, the IEA’s Policies and Measures Databases offer access to information on energy-related policies and measures taken or planned to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, improve energy efficiency and support renewable energy development and deployment. This online service aims to complement the policy analysis carried out by the IEA and covers measures taken in IEA member countries. Delegates from IEA member countries are given the opportunity to review information in the databases twice a year”:

    Dealing with Climate Change: Policies and Measures Global Renewable Energy Policies and Measures Database Energy Efficiency Policies and Measures Database

    This page gives access to reviews, if published, and to the above databases, for each country.

    Non-member Countries of the IEA

    (See attached Excel document for a complete list and further information)


    IEA members are all members of the OECD, but some OECD members do not meet the criteria for being members of the IEA, ie: Chile, Iceland, Israel, Mexico; and Slovenia (Chile is a current candidate country for IEA membership).

    Organisation of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC)

    OPEC membersnone are OECD or IEA members, although Saudi Arabia and Venezuela participate in the IEA Technology Collaboration programme.

    “In accordance with its Statute, the mission of the Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) is to coordinate and unify the petroleum policies of its Member Countries and ensure the stabilization of oil markets in order to secure an efficient, economic and regular supply of petroleum to consumers, a steady income to producers and a fair return on capital for those investing in the petroleum industry.”

    OPEC members in 2019: Algeria; Angola; Congo; Ecuador; Ecuadorial Guinea; Gabon; Iran; Iraq; Kuwait; Libya; Nigeria; Saudi Arabia; UAE; Venezuela.

    United Arab Emirates.  Embassy of the United Arab Emirates, Washington DC.  Energy in the UAE.     

    Venezuela is a participant in the IEA Technology Collaboration Programmes

    Further information

    For the countries covered in the following references, please see the attached Excel file.

    (1) Non-member Countries of the IEA  IEA has statistics for most of these countries – but not policies for all.

    (2) Energy Policies Beyond IEA Countries - Eastern Europe, Caucasus and Central Asia 2015.  IEA, 2015.
    Free publication download.This publication highlights the energy policies and sector developments of Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine and Uzbekistan during 2013-14 and provides a summary of key recommendations for policy makers.

    (3) Reducing Emissions in Fossil-Fired Generation - Indonesia, Malaysia and Vietnam. IEA, 2016

    (4) Morocco 2014 - Energy policies beyond IEA countriesIEA, 2014

    (5) Russia 2014 - Energy Policies Beyond IEA Countries. IEA, 2014

    (6) Southeast Asia Energy Outlook 2015. IEA, 2015

    (7) Energy Policies Beyond IEA Countries - Ukraine 2012. IEA 2012

    (78 Energy Policies Beyond IEA Countries - Chile 2018. IEA 2018

    (9) Energy Policy Milestones  Energy Institute, Ongoing.

    The EI Knowledge Service is continually monitoring the work of local, national and international bodies to compile this resource of relevant policy activities.

    Energy Insight details

    Please login to save this item