Photo story (Honours for key energy industry figures) The Energy Institute&rsquo ...

Photo story (Honours for key energy industry figures) The Energy Institute’s (EI) Chief Executive Louise Kingham FEI was awarded an OBE for services to the energy industry in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List. The award is fitting recognition for Louise’s contribution to the industry over the past 18 years, working tirelessly to promote good practice and professionalism within the energy industry for the pubic good. Louise was instrumental in creating the EI in 2003, drawing on the best of the heritage of the founding Institutes. Commenting on the award, she said: ‘Obviously I am delighted to receive an OBE and feel very privileged to do so. Whilst it is a personal achievement, it is also a wonderful reflection on the valuable work the EI team produces to achieve our purpose and I am lucky to be part of that team.’ President of the Energy Institute, James Smith FEI, said: ‘I am thrilled that Louise has received this honour. She is doing an outstanding job. It is great to see this recognition of her work in making the Energy Institute such an important contributor to the world of energy.’ A number of EI Fellows were also recognised in the Queen’s latest Birthday Honours List. Frank Chapman FEI, Chief Executive of BG Group, received a knighthood for services to the oil and gas industries, and CBEs were awarded to Professor Nigel Brandon FEI, Director, Energy Futures Laboratory, Imperial College, London, and Dr Paul Golby FEI, Chief Executive Officer, E.ON UK. Simon Roberts FEI, Chief Executive Officer, Centre for Sustainable Energy, received an OBE for services to the renewables industry, while an MBE was awarded to Daniel Sinton FEI, Deputy Prinicipal Energy Division, Department of Enterprise, Trade and Investment, Northern Ireland Executive. In addition, OBEs were awarded to Jean Llewellyn, Chief Executive, National Skills Academy for Nuclear, for services to the energy industry; John Loughhead, Executive Director, UK Energy Research Centre, for services to technology; Iain Miller, Vice Chairman, Doosan Power Systems, for services to the engineering industry; and Bronwen Northmore, lately Director, Cleaner Fossil Fuels Directorate, Department of Energy and Climate Change. MBEs go to Alan Christie, Senior Professional and Technology Officer, Department of Energy and Climate Change; Richard Davies, Director, Marches Energy Agency, for services to sustainable energy; Shirley Phillips, Co-owner, Cosyhome Insulation, for services to sustainable energy; and Oonagh Werngren, Head of Development, GDF Suez Exploration and Production, for services to the oil and gas industries.

News Item details

Please login to save this item